PICTURES OF BELGRADE (with brief commentaries)

BELGRADE FORTRESS is the most remarkable monument of history preserved in the city. This is where the remains of Belgrade's distant past can best be seen: the site where Belgrade was founded as a small fortified settlement in the 2nd century AD, and on which it developed right down to the second half of the 18th century. Along with artillery structures of the mid-18th century, there are medieval ramparts, towers, gates and barbicans (15th century), as well as some Byzantine and Roman remains. This historical site is surrounded by a municipal park, bearing the old Turkish name of this place - Kalemegdan.

TERAZIJE STREET with the Moskva Hotel (1906) and the Old drinking fountain (1868). Conveniently located between two main Belgrade's squares, this spot represents the heart of Belgrade. The name of the street is of Turkish origin ('Water scales'), referring to the old water supply system during the period of Ottoman rule. Two high 'towers' - water collectors were located here, resembling a scale and this is how the place got its name.  
The Moskva Hotel, the major hallmark of this area, is the only hotel outside Russia that bears this name.


THE HOUSE OF PARLIAMENT is one of the most attractive palatial buildings in Belgrade. It was constructed in the period 1906-36 after the projects of the architect Jovan Ilkic. Construction works were completed under the supervision of his son, Pavle Ilkic. The palace is an example of various architectural styles: Neo-Renaissance, Baroque, Classicism. Great attention was also dedicated to the internal decorations. The front entrance is embellished by two monumental sculpture groups of the black horses, authored by Toma Rosandic.
 

PANORAMA OF THE CITY CENTER with the Federal Parliament building, Nikola Pasic Square and the Trade Union Hall (dominating the scene).
In back: the Danube river with a tiny island covered by lush greenery (a unique bird sanctuary and nature reserve).
In front: House of Parliament


REPUBLIC SQUARE with the National Theatre (1868) and the Monument to Prince Michael Obrenovic (1882). The equestrian statue is cast in bronze (Mueller Foundry, Munich). Behind the monument is the National Museum (not presented here), founded in 1844.

BELGRADE CITY HALL (Assembly of the City of Belgrade) is situated in the former Royal Court, built in late 19th century for King Milan Obrenovic. This is one of the most important architectonic achievements in town, built on the basis of the Italian Renaissance. The building was reconstructed on several; occasions, but the original design by Aleksandar Bugarski has been faithfully preserved. 


KNEZA MIHAILA STREET with a row of 19th century mansions. This was the first street in Belgrade to be regulated and named. Nowadays, the street is blocked off to all vehicular traffic and reserved for pedestrians only. It is the main shopping mall and promenade connecting Republic Square with Kalemegdan Park and the Fortress i.e. the archaeological and historical zone of the city.   

PANORAMA OF KING MILAN STREET (formerly: Marshal Tito St) with the cupolas of the 'New' Royal Court, built for King Alexandar I Karadjordjevic in 1913-16 (now: Presidency of Serbia) and the 'Old' Royal Court, built for King Milan Obrenovic in 1882 (now: City Hall). The main Belgrade street connects Slavija Square with Terazije.


PRINCESS LJUBICA'S RESIDENCE (1829-31), a court of Duke Milos Obrenovic, who reestablished the modern Serbian state in the 19th century. The building is an example of old, combined construction technique: Turkish 'daub and wattle' system was supported here by refined brickwork. 

THE BRIDGES OF BELGRADE
Two parts of the modern city situated at the confluence of two rivers are connected with 5 bridges on the Sava and 1 bridge on the Danube.  On the river's right bank lies the historical nucleus of Belgrade and on the other side is New Belgrade.

All these sights are included in the program of our BELGRADE PANORAMA city tour.

If you have accessed this page outside a frame, please follow this link to the frames version:
Belgrade Sightseeing


BELGRADE SIGHTSEEING / BRANKO RABOTIC PhD
Phone/fax: (++38111) 386.11.53, GSM: (++38163) 854.26.48 
(Calls to GSM from inside Serbia: 063 854.26.48)
E mail: rabotic@EUnet.rs  URL: http://www.belgradetours.com/